Skip to main content

Web Content Display Web Content Display

The Perzanowski Award

The Institute of Philosophy of the Jagiellonian University in cooperation with the Institute of Psychology of the Jagiellonian University and the Polish Cognitive Society award Professor Jerzy Perzanowski Awards for a given year: one prize is awarded for the best master's thesis in cognitive science, and the other - for the best doctoral thesis in this field. The patron of the Award is the outstanding Polish logician and cognitive scientist, Jerzy Perzanowski (1943-2009).

Master's theses whose defense took place on any day of the previous year and doctoral theses for which a resolution of the relevant council awarding the academic degree was adopted on any day of the previous year may be submitted to the competition.

The amount of the Award for a doctoral thesis is PLN 5,000 gross, and the amount of the Award for a master's thesis is PLN 3,000 gross.

Applications for the Award may be submitted only by members of the relevant committees appointed to accept a master's or doctoral thesis, including supervisors and reviewers, but may not be submitted by the authors of the works applying for the Award. Submitted works can be written in Polish or English.

Submission of a work is done by sending it, with the author's consent, in a pdf file via e-mail to the following account:, annually by February 16. Together with the works, an Application Form signed by the person submitting the work should be sent, as well as the Consent of the author of the work and the information clause regarding the processing of personal data signed by the Author or Author of the submitted work. The detailed rules of the competition are set out in the Regulations. The contest ends on April 30.

Recipients of the Award so far:

For 2022, Patrycja Kałama-Ligęza PhD, Anna Baljon-Bukowska MA.
For 2021, Piotr Litwin PhD, Piotr Szymanek MA
For 2020, Olgierd Borowiecki MA
For 2018, Łukasz Boli PhD, Michał Ociepka MA
For 2015 and 2016, Krystyna Bielecka PhD, Błażej Skrzypulec PhD, Aleksandra Sadowska MA, Marta Sokólska MA